The Arrival

After eight hours of driving,finally I  reached Miami. I drove around town looking for a temporary spot to lay my head. I passed by a for rent sign. A small little beachfront flat.  I saw a dirty blonde hottie landscaping out front. I walked up the cobblestone walk way.

“Hello my name is Nomi are you the owner of this property? ” I asked, extending my hand for a handshake.

“Yes.” He said, shaking my hand in return.

” I saw the for rent sign, how much?” I said

” I’m asking for one thousand a month for a year lease and twelve hundred for a month to month.” He replied

” I’m very interested when is it available for show?” I asked. He stared at me for a moment with his icy blue eyes.

” Now, if you wanna check it out?” he said, placing the last pair of colorful flowers into the ground.

He stood up and led me through the oversized white door. Once inside there were hardwood floors throughout.  The walls in the kitchen, dining, and living room area were painted a bright yellow. It was very spacious.  I loved the country styled kitchen with wood and glass cabinets.  We walked into the bedroom.  The walls were a pale baby blue with white trim. There was a sliding patio door that led outside to a privately fenced backyard. There was a beautiful garden with an outdoor shower. The wooden gate open and there it was the ocean and the sand beneath my feet. I loved the smell of ocean. I was sold.

” I’m in love and I would love to rent it.” I said smiling.

” What do I have to do? I asked.”
He folded his arms and leaned against the fence.

“I’m asking for first and last months rent and a two thousand deposit. Deposit is returned if there is no damage to the property.  I just need to verify references and income.” He said, taking a sip of his bottled water. His lips were so pink against his tan face. He was sexy, as he unknowingly flaunted his six pack through is wife beater tank top.

I had neither, but we would find out if money talks. I open my Louie leather shoulder bag and counted out six months of rent and deposit. I handed him a total of nine thousand and two hundred dollars. He gave me a puzzled look as we walked back inside.

” I’m new here, I have no family, and no friends. I do plan on getting a job. I know no one seriously and I hope you can make an exception.” I said.
He seemed hesitant. He counted the money and let out a high pitch whistle.

” I guess I can let you slide I never had anyone to give me their rent for six months.” He said rubbing his chin.

” First time for everything.” I replied smiling.

” So no boyfriend I take it?” He asked staring between my breast. I pretend I didn’t notice.

“No I’m not dating anyone.”

“Good, so how about a date around town tomorrow night?” He asked blushing.

” You like black girls?” I just had to ask.

” I don’t see race, but I know beauty and I must say you are naturally beautiful. So I can pick you up at seven?”

” Yea I should be ready.” I said

“Oh the dress code is swimwear.” He said placing the keys on the kitchen counter and walking out the door. As I was standing there I heard a loud roar. I looked out the window. He was headed down the street on a black and chrome Harley.

To find out more about me and what inspired Nomi aka Brooke’s journey checkout: http://www.amazon.com/author/julietb and snag your copy of the Circle of Games “The Lovely B”

One thought on “The Arrival

Leave a Reply

