Criticism Is One’s Opinion

As a new author you probably find yourself checking your reviews to your new novel or new blog post. Hoping and praying that everyone likes your book or post. Hmm….that’s impossible because everyone is entitled to their own opinion. It’s only negative if you don’t find the value in the opinion. I got my first two star rating and the reader loved my character, but felt that I did not tell enough of the story, and things were too unrealistic. The only thing that puzzled me was unrealistic. I thought that’s what fiction is all about,and that’s why you have different genres. Genres such as mystery,paranormal, fantasy, and sci-fi just to name a few the list can go on and on. That’s how you know the difference between a reader and a writer. For a non-writer I would not expect them to understand what we feel. I can tell you this. As a writer it takes a lot of courage to present your idea to the world. Yes, it was fine reading it yourself, family, and friends. Now, it’s up for grabs by potential agents, and complete strangers. We write and publish hoping that we are the next Stephen King, Oscar Wilde, Shakespeare, and E.L James. As writers we live and are determined to reach these new heights. At least one of these authors gave you the drive and the motivation to tell your stories. Personally I love to read and I have just gotten my hands on my first sci-fi book The Bastion By: Joshua Harkin and I must say I feel like I’m actually there! I love to write and I love to read. I just love it! Happy Writing Everyone! 🙂 

Leave a Reply

